World Climate

Colorado - Auto Insurance Qoutes online

Get a Colorado car insurance quote from local agents and compare costs today.


Colorado car insurance

Major Requirements for Car Insurance in Colorado

Colorado car insurance is different from that of other states. The state's laws stipulate that the mandatory insurance coverage each driver must carry is as follows:

* Bodily injury liability (BI): This coverage gives the driver financial protection in the event that he causes an accident in which another party gets hurt or killed. The minimum limits required by the state are $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident (25/50). For added protection, financial experts recommend a minimum coverage of $100,000 per person and $300,000 per occurrence (100/300).

* Property damage liability (PD): Offers coverage for the motorist in the event that he causes damage to another individual's property. This coverage is not limited to incidences involving a car. It extends to physical properties such as buildings, garage doors and utility poles. Colorado state laws require a minimum of $15,000 per occurrence.

* Uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM/UIM): Covers medical and other expenses a motorist may have to deal with if he is hit by a driver without adequate auto insurance coverage. Most drivers purchase collision and comprehensive insurance as added protection, but the option also exists for them to purchase additional coverage for the cost of damage to their car.

The state requires that insurers offer a motorist UM/UIM coverage in the same amount that the motorist selected for bodily injury. This coverage can be waived by the insurance company, but the motorist will need to reject it in writing. Once that is done, a driver can then select a starting limit equivalent to that of the minimum for bodily injury (25/50) up to the liability amount they purchased on their policy.

* Medical payments coverage (Med Pay/MPC): As of January 1, 2009, Colorado car insurance providers are required to offer motorists coverage of $5,000. This coverage and premium is automatic unless a motorist opts out. Rejection can be done in writing, via the Internet or by telephone. Insurers are also required by law to hold $5,000 of a driver's MPC for 30 days. The sum withheld will go towards the payment of trauma bills.

* Collision and comprehensive: Both of these coverages are optional. While not mandatory, motorists are advised to get them as additional protection against motor vehicle theft, accidents, and other events such as damage or loss of a vehicle due to natural disasters.

Auto Theft in Colorado

Most states have the challenge of dealing with car theft. The same is true for Colorado. The Colorado Auto Theft Prevention Authority (CATPA) requires insurers to pay an assessment fee of $1 for each automobile it insures. Insurance companies may pass this charge on to the motorists. Here are ten of the most stolen cars in the state.

Most Stolen cars in Colorado:

* 1996 Honda Accord

* 1995 Honda Civic

* 1995 Acura Integra

* 2001 Dodge Ram 1500

* 1991 Toyota Camry

* 1995 Jeep Cherokee

* 1998 Ford F-150

* 1994 Saturn L-Series

* 2001 Jeep Cherokee

* 2000 Ford F-250

Colorado Car Insurance Rates

The state of Colorado is presently ranked in the top one-third of U.S. states with premiums that average $850 per year. It is challenging for motorists to find cheap car insurance in Colorado, but it is not impossible. Car owners need to be aware that there are several factors that affect their premiums. Colorado car insurance ratings are established with rating factors that are calculated against the driver as a risk. Having a negative history as a motorist, driving under the influence (DUI), and being involved in a number of accidents are examples of the risk factors that insurance companies will have to consider when doing up Colorado auto insurance quotes. Drivers with a clean record can get lower insurance rates.

Motorists also need to understand that one driver's action can ultimately affect the entire Colorado auto insurance rating. High incidences of motor vehicle accidents and car theft tend to drive insurance rates higher. There are many insurance companies that operate throughout the state, and they offer motorists discounts that will lower their premiums. Drivers qualify for these discounts based on certain factors. Discounts can be offered to a motorist based on the merits of a good driving record, the number of vehicles the company covers for that driver and mileage.

Accidents resulting from poor road conditions in Colorado tend to complicate the process of determining liability. Who should bear the cost associated with accidents caused by poor road conditions? Automatically the finger will point at the state, but getting the state to pay is not an easy task. It is advisable that motorists involved in accidents act quickly, as the statute of limitations can be as short as six months). They will need to get an experienced attorney, and ensure that they keep stringent records that reflect every detail of the accident. Photographs showing the condition of the roads at the time of the accident are great additions.

Other rating factors used to determine the auto insurance ratings in the state of Colorado are:

* Credit-based insurance scores

* Location and age

* Experience (number of years as a driver)

* Type of vehicle

* Marital status

* Driving history

The tools used by each company to arrive at their rating score may vary. Shopping around, collecting several Colorado auto insurance quotes and comparing rates is a wise approach for any motorist whether or not they are seeking Colorado cheap auto insurance. The regulatory body for Colorado auto insurance is the Colorado Division of Insurance (

Seat Belt Usage Laws in Colorado

The driver and all passengers occupying the front seat of a vehicle in Colorado are required to wear a seat belt. Individuals exempted from observing this law are those who have a physical or psychologically disabling disorder. These individuals must carry a certified written statement indicating the nature of their condition. Exemptions are also made for vehicles that are not federally required to have seat belts.

Violation of the seat belt law is a secondary offense Colorado. This means the driver can only be charged if a law enforcement officer stops them for another violation. The fine for not wearing a seat belt in Colorado is $65 plus a $6 surcharge.


Colorado state laws require that infants up to one year old or 20 pounds be properly secured in a rear-facing child safety seat. Children from one - four years and weighing 20 to 40 pounds must be in a forward-facing child-safety seat. Children over age four and 40 pounds should be properly restrained in a booster seat with a safety belt. When a child reaches the age of 6 or a height of 55 inches, they must be properly restrained with a seat belt. A total of 64 children under age twelve died in Colorado as a result of motor vehicle accidents for the 2006-2010 period. Statistics indicate that over half of these children were not in a child safety seat or properly secured with a seat belt.

Fines for violation of the child safety laws are both primary and secondary. Violations of the infant seat, child safety seat and the seat belt provisions are primary, while violation of the booster seat law is a Class B traffic infraction that attracts a fine of $65 and a surcharge of $16. The states seat belt campaign "Click It or Ticket" resulted in an increase in seat belt compliance moving from 77.7 percent to 79.3 percent.

Local Agents

Choose Location